Learn more about the transition to UCI Canvas ›

What does EEE Legacy mean? Learn more › Skip to Global Navigation | Skip to Contents
You're not logged in Secure Sign In

Suggest a Post

Review Guidelines >>

Printer-Friendly View

2013 Celebration of Teaching Recipients EduTech

Faculty are competitively selected by the Council on Student Experience and the Division of Undergraduate Education to receive awards as Professor of the Year, Lecturer of the Year, Instructional Technology Innovator of the Year, and TA Development Mentor of the Year. Each receive $1000. The event is hosted by the Teaching, Learning & Technology Center.

To learn more about the awards, please go to: http://www.tltc.uci.edu/teachingAwards/html.

The following recipients were competitively selected by the Academic Senate Council on Student Experience based on nominations made by faculty and students. Monetary awards are provided by Dean of the Division of Undergraduate Education (Professor & Lecturer of the Year Awards); the Teaching, Learning & Technology Center (TA Development Award); Graduate Division (Most Promising Future Faculty Awards); and the Office of Information Technology (Instructional Technology Innovation Award). The Teaching, Learning & Technology Center provides recipients of all awards with engraved plaques and hosts the reception.

Prof. of the Year ($1000)
Prof. Rebecca A. Davis
School of Humanities

Lecturer of the Year ($1000)
Dr. Donna Schuele
Criminology, Law & Society
School of Social Ecology

TA Development Award ($1000)
Prof. Daniel Gross
School of Humanities

Instructional Technology  Innovation ($1000@)
Dr. Sarah Eichhorn
Dr. Rachel Lehman
School of Physical Sciences

Most Promising Future Faculty Members (1-quarter dissertation
fellowship & fee waiver@)

Amanda Janesick
Developmental & Cell Biology
School of Biological Sciences

Jed Brubaker
Donald Bren School of Information & Computer Science

In addition, the following individuals will be recognized by their Deans as their School's Honoree for Excellence in Undergraduate Education:

School Honorees:

Lawrence Cahill, School of Biological Sciences

Lucile Faurel, Paul Merage School of Business

AnneMarie Conley, School of Education

Bernard Choi, Henry Samueli School of Engineering

Cynthia Lakon, School of Health Sciences

Rebecca A. Davis, School of Humanities

Don Patterson, Donald Bren School of Information & Computer Science

Eric Potma, School of Physical Sciences

Doug Houston, School of Social Ecology

Catherine Bolzendahl, School of Social Sciences

Also being recognized at the ceremony are Pedagogical Fellows. Fellows are mentor TAs who develop and implement the campus-wide TA Professional Development Program and who offer training workshops throughout the year for their peers:

Pedagogical Fellows:

Claire Trevor School of the Arts:
Kristin Keating, Drama

Henry Samueli School of Engineering:
Weiwei Chen, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science

School of Humanities:
Ali Meghdadi, Comparative Literature
Philip Walsh, Philosophy

Donald Bren School of Information & Computer Science:
Eric Hennigan, Computer Science

School of Physical Sciences:
May Mei, Mathematics
Elizabeth Swift, Chemistry
Alex Wagner, Chemistry

School of Social Ecology:
Nicole Matthews, Psychology & Social Behavior
Victoria Lowerson, Planning, Policy & Design

School of Social Sciences:
Danny Mann, Cognitive Science
Patrick Button, Economics
Edelina Burciaga, Sociology
Sierra Powell, Political Science

To Attend:
To attend the ceremony, please R.S.V.P. no later than April 5, 2013, to tltc3000@uci.edu or call (949) 824-6060. Since this is the 20th anniversary, we would like to especially encourage recipients of awards from previous years to attend. Seating is limited and refreshments need to be ordered, so R.S.V.P.'s are especially appreciated.

To reserve a seat, please include the following in an e-mail to tltc3000@uci.edu:

First, Last Name
Zot Code
(and the names and information of any additional guests you may be bringing)